Team Motopark claims victory at second round of f4uae while UAE teams push frontrunners

DUBAI, 18th December, 2016 (WAM) — Team Motopark’s Jonathan Aberdein has continued his dominance at the second round of the 2016/17 Formula 4 UAE Championship at Yas Marina Circuit, but not without increasing pressure from local UAE teams.

The experienced F4 team from Germany may have lead every racing lap so far this season, however, it was Dubai-based Energy Dubai F4 Racing Team’s Sean Babington (#4) who shone in front of the internationals, by leading the final hit-out before settling for his fifth podium finish in 2016.

Sharing the racing spotlight with the Gulf 12 Hours event, Round 2 of the F4UAE Championship welcomed two new drivers who stepped up from karting and into circuit racing; Australian Oscar Piastri (#88), and American David Malukas (#79) who impressed with a podium finish on debut.

Mohammed bin Sulayem, President of ATCUAE and Emirates Motor Sports Federation, congratulated all the drivers for their continual improvement as they learn the craft of single-seater racing in the UAE.

“Besides the sixth successful edition of the Gulf 12 Hours race, we had four successful races of the F4UAE which saw strong competition among drivers and a remarkable progress in their performance,” said Bin Sulayem.

“Two new drivers from Australia and the USA joined the championship, which reflects its increasing popularity. We still have a lot to do this season, however going forward to the next round at the end of January we will focus on ways to sustain the success of each round and build on it for the future,” he added.